Livewire Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started with the LiveWire. The LW offers Bluetooth connectivity for various neat things, but I've never been able to get it to work - in fact, my experience is so bad as to call it fully unusable (1 on a 1-10 scale).

Pairing always works fine, but nothing works after that, and it both can't be connected from the phone (no ability to "connect" is offered in the BT menu, nor is any "connect" option offered in the H-D app), nor from the bike itself (no "connect" option in the menus for the paired device). It seems to be a totally passive system, as a result, left to the whims of software.

And in my case, those whims never play out. When pairing, the bike screen stays on the "here's how to pair, here's my name" screen, and on the phone, it pairs, but doesn't show connected. The Bluetooth indicator on the dash stays grey. A few seconds later, while my finger had just hovered over the "forget" button to try again, it turns blue and connects... but only for a few seconds, then goes grey again. Maybe it'll turn blue again in another few seconds, but usually not.

It seems to work well an iPhone (6S); it stayed connected (blue) and all the features seem to work, but I don't want to use a phone that breaks if I drop it on concrete a few times a month, so I stick with my indestructible Moto Z2 Force, in turn stuck on Android 8.0.

The dash runs 1.02.00-02 which is the latest.

From what I can tell, there's an issue with the way the Android app handles BLE, as it also hangs/corrupts the Bluetooth state for other apps. Trying to get some help from the developers, but... slow going. Curious if anyone else has a similar experience with Android for the other half of the people in the world that don't like a one-size-fits-all phone ;)

·
Registered
2020, Harley Davidson LiveWire
121 Posts