Livewire Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After a few weeks of toiling away on my 2nd ELW, I have successfully (and test rode) with the Pan America (PA) steering head, forks, laced wheel, brakes and rotors. I still have to get the new brakes lined in, but I'm waiting for the laced rear wheel to come in and attempt to mount it as well. I'm quite proud of the result so far, however I have much further to go! I have to custom make all the brackets to house the headlight, blinkers, and TFT screen. This is will still take me a few more months to complete. I still plan on documenting everything on my YouTube channel, however I know there are some that enjoy reading, so I'll briefly describe what all I've done so far. I'm not a mechanic, engineer or the like - just a guy with a vision and an eagerness to take on the challenge. Also CAD, 3D printers, and some woodworking tools have helped ;)

Installed PA steering head - surprisingly the PA and the ELW have the same steering bearings, which made the swap essentially one for one, except for the fork stops on the PA lower clamp assembly. I used an angle grinder and Dremel to fine tune those stops to fit the mounting head on the ELW. This required me to continuously mount/unmount the steering clamps until I had the clearance to install the full assembly. Even after I installed the forks, the initial turning radius was horrendous, however it just needed some fine tuning with the Dremel, and now the turning radius is quite similar to a stock ELW.